Fight to Save Tesla Park Continues

On Friday, ophthalmologist October 21, asthma 2016, the State Parks Off-Highway Motor Vehicle Recreation (OHMVR) Commission voted unanimously (7 to 0) to approve and certify the Carnegie SVRA General Plan and Final EIR. This is disappointing, but not unexpected.

The fight to Save Tesla Park continues – it’s just moving to a new stage 

Tesla’s irreplaceable natural, historic and cultural treasures are too important for today and for future generations to stop the fight to permanently protect them.

That is why we are prepared to file a legal challenge when the OHMVR Division issues its Notice of Determination.  We will also continue to work at the state level to re-designate Tesla as a nature and cultural preserve.

Tesla Preservation has Overwhelming Local Support

Our thanks to the community and local public agencies that are working together to protect Tesla as an important part of Alameda County’s natural and cultural heritage.

We have overwhelming support from local public agencies, community organizations and community members like you for preserving Tesla Park with no damaging off-road vehicle use allowed.

Working together we will continue the fight to Save Tesla Park.

 Public Agencies

  • County of Alameda
    • Altamont Open Space Committee
    • Alameda County Parks Recreation and Historical PResee4fvation Commission
    • Alameda County Agricultural Advisory Committee
  • City of Livermore

Public Officials

  • EBRPD Board Director, Ward 5, Ayn Wieskamp
  • EBRPD Board Director, Ward 3, Dennis Waespi
  • EBRPD Board Vice President, Ward 4, Doug Siden
  • EBRPD Board Director, Ward 6, Beverly Lane
  • Senator Loni Hancock
  • Former Assembly Member Joan Buchanan, Former State Senator, Congressman Mark DeSalunier
  • LARPD Board Member Bob Coomber
  • LARPD Board Member David Furst
  • LARPD Board Member Beth Wilson
  • Livermore City Council Member Laureen Turner
  • Livermore City Council Member Steven Spedowfski
  • Livermore City Council Member Bob Woerner
  • Livermore Planning Commissioner Loretta Kasky
  • Pleasanton City Council Vice Mayor Karla Brown
  • Former Pleasanton City Council Member Cheryl Cook-Kallio, Candidate for Assembly, 16th District
  • Former Livermore Mayor Cathie Brown
  • Former Livermore Mayor John Shirley
  • Former Livermore City Council Member Doug Horner
  • Dublin City Council Member Abe Gupta
  • Former Dublin Mayor Tim Sbranti

Community Organizations

  • Audubon California with Ohlone Audubon Society and Mount Diablo Audubon Society
  • Alameda Creek Alliance
  • California Oaks/California Wildlife Foundation
  • California Native Grasslands Association
  • California Sports Fishing Association-CSFA
  • Center for Biological Diversity
  • Citizens Committee to Complete the Refuge – CCCR
  • California Native Plant Society with East Bay Chapter of the California Native Plant Society
  • Friends of the Arroyos
  • Friends of Livermore
  • Friends of Springtown Preserve
  • Friends of the Vineyards
  • Greenbelt Alliance
  • Indian People Organizing for Change – IPOC
  • Livermore Heritage Guild
  • Livermore Hill Hikers
  • Nototomne Cultural Preservation
  • Public Employees for Environmental Responsibility – PEER
  • Regional Parks Association
  • Sacred Sites Protection & Rights of Indigenous Tribes – SPP&RIT, Vallejo
  • Save the Frogs Foundation
  • Save Mount Diablo
  • Sierra Club with SF Bay Chapter of Sierra Club
  • Society of American Indians, Livermore
  • Sustainability, Parks, Recycling and Wildlife Legal Defense Fund-SPRAWLDEF
  • Tesla Road Residents’ Alliance
  • Neighboring East Alameda County Ranchers
  • Tri-Valley Trailblazers

Tesla park ridget top summer looking north to Mt. Diablo